Subscription Box Reviews

Birchbox Review – October 2013

So let’s kick off this blog with a bang – my very first subscription box review! I have recently subscribed to a few boxes and I will share my review monthly on here. Those boxes includes Birchbox, Love with Food and Conscious Box so far.

When I was deciding whether or not to subscribe to these boxes I searched the web to see what past boxes included as part of my research and so I thought by reviewing my boxes I might help someone who needs the same information, especially from an African-American perspective which is harder to find.

A little about Birchbox(taken from their site):
“Each month, you’ll receive a selection of samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves. We source our samples from both well-known brands and emerging gems. The women’s subscription includes everything from skin care to makeup, as well as fun non-beauty extras. When you are ready for more of the products you sampled, you can purchase full-size versions directly from the Birchbox Shop. We have a generous loyalty program that rewards you every time you shop, refer friends, and give feedback on your monthly samples. You can redeem Birchbox Points and save on any full-size or gift purchase”

While I am on that subject, I will mention I was a little reluctant to subscribe to Birchbox because I wasn’t sure if they had products for my type of skin or hair. Part of the initial subscription process is filling a beauty profile so that they can get to know your skin and hair type amongst other things. I was a little disappointed because for the skin tone section my co-worker sent me a link so I could find my perfect match from the Birchbox blog but what they classify as “dark” which is the darkest selection was light in the African-American category. I put that aside because at the end of the day, we all share most of the same products, it’s just a few things that we might need specialized. More to come on this subject with one of the products that was included in my box.

First review below! The box also comes with a card with descriptions and prices for the full sizes of the products.

Birchbox - October 2013

Birchbox – October 2013

  • Evologie® Stay Clear Cream – I was excited about this product because lately because of stress I have had some breakouts on my cheeks but after using it for a couple of days I didn’t notice a difference which I usually get from other products. Not sure if I need to use the whole system or not. That’s the hard thing when trying one product in a line, especially with skin care. Is it ok as a standalone? Should I save it until I get other products in future boxes? lol
  • BECCA® Radiant Skin Satin Finish Foundation – So here is the product that I mentioned above, the “dark” skin tone selection seems to have a variety no matter what shade you are. I am not sure if it’s just for this product but I feel a little better now…lol. I haven’t tried it yet because I have a foundation I use and I do not want to irritate my skin, I will probably give it away. This sample looks like it is enough for one day. I’m guessing they don’t give a lot of foundation samples.
  • Bain de Terre macadamia oil NOURISHING SHAMPOO & Bain de Terre macadamia oil NOURISHING CONDITIONER- I was pretty excited to see this product because I love all types of skin and hair oil, macadamia is not one I have come across a lot, usually olive, jojoba or tea tree oils. I usually go to the hair salon but I will save this for when I go on vacation and need a travel size shampoo and conditioner or again – give it away :-)
  • ChapStick® Hydration Lock – Who doesn’t love all types of lip things?  I wasn’t as disappointed as some other reviews I saw on this product, especially because I live in NY and it is below zero these days. I’ve only used it a couple of days and I didn’t notice a big difference – it might also be good to use overnight before you go to bed.

I received the notification that my November box was mailed out last Friday so I should be posting that review shortly! The future reviews will be shorter because I won’t need to include all the background information.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

